6 Comments

I get puzzled by comparative scores on champagnes unless they’re based on relevant sub-divisions - Meunier/BdeB/BdeNoir etc ..

Generally I’m pretty confident in Toms narrative descriptions though - scores for champagne are less useful .,

Expand full comment
author

Indeed - it's complex! One of the reason I think notes have to draw comparisons, get as much context in as possible.

Expand full comment
May 7Liked by Tom Hewson

Interesting. Have you discussed the pluses and minuses of scoring? I understand the value of scores and have relied on them to make purschases, but I’ve really enjoyed the writing you do here and writing/video on Instagram without scores. I bought a bottle of the Henriot you just discussed for example. In that case, any score would have been unhelpful.

Expand full comment
author

It's a big topic - I don't like writing them, but I like reading them...

Expand full comment
May 7Liked by Tom Hewson

Call it as you see taste it. Be honest and candid. Grade inflation helps no one.

Expand full comment
May 7Liked by Tom Hewson

90-93 Good quality, 94-95 Great quality, 96-98 Excellent quality, 98+ Outstanding quality.

86-90 Fair quality. Below 86, hmm.

Expand full comment